Why I Love Fantasy

Hello, readers!

So, my love for books and reading comes up a lot in conversation. And one of the most common questions I get asked is: “what genre is your favourite?” and for some reason, people are shocked when I tell them that I l-o-v-e fantasy books. So here is why I love them:

The first book series I ever read was Twilight. Go ahead, make fun, but the books are beautifully written and I loved every moment of them. Twilight is a fantasy series, and this series was how I fell in love with reading. So the next series I picked up was Harry Potter, possibly the most famous fantasy series of all time. This series was so amazing and I really loved everything about it – the plot, the characters, the setting. It was the perfect book series. By this point, I had read two entire series that I loved. And they were both fantasy. Then, the next week, I was in the school library. I needed a book to read, so I picked up the one closest to my hand. It was called Clockwork Angel. I read the blurb, and it sounded like something I would like, so I checked it out of the library. I honestly didn’t think it would be that good.

I finished it in one day. It is now my favourite series of all time. Ever.

Then I read all of the author’s (Cassandra Clare’s) other novels, which, coincidentally, were all fantasy. And I loved them, too.

I guess what I’m trying to say is my love for fantasy novels stemmed from my love for the first book series I ever read – Twilight. So, thanks, Stephanie Meyer.

What’s your favourite genre? Why? Leave a comment! 🙂

~Jemma xo

6 thoughts on “Why I Love Fantasy

  1. I really enjoy fantasy as well, although they’re usually the books that take me the longest to read! I don’t know if I’m able to pick a favorite genre, although lately I’ve really been liking Sci-Fi/Dystopia (all thanks to the Lunar Chronicles). Great post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

