Paper Towns | Movie Review and Discussion

Hello, readers!

Today, in the United Kingdom, the movie adaptation to one of my favourite books ever came out. I was so excited. On the car ride up to the cinema, I couldn’t sit still at all! I was so scared that the movie was going to totally ruin the book for me, or that it was going to be so good that I would just forget about the boo and keep rewatching the movie!

However, this was not the case. I’m sorry to say this, but I was extremely disappointed by this movie. When it was announced that Paper Towns – one of my favourite books – was going to be made into a movie, I was terrified. I was terrified that it would turn into The Fault in our Stars, and suddenly everybody would love the movie and forget the book even existed. When I went to see The Fault in our Stars when it first came out, the cinemas was packed. They used their biggest screen, and it was full of excited teenage girls and young couples. When I went to see Paper Towns today on its day of release, the cinema was practically empty. In total, there were about twenty people in there.

Okay, so let’s explain why the movie didn’t wow me…

This book means so much to me. I read it in less than twenty-four hours because I was stuck to it. I literally couldn’t put it down. It was so funny, yet so romantic and heart-warming and touching. It made me realise that the most important thing in life was happiness and not a good job with a big house and three kids.

To be completely honest, the movie was not as funny as the book. At the beginning of the film, they were sort of on the same level, but I feel as though the writers kind of slacked with the comedy in the second half. Everything was just portrayed worse and the jokes were awfully unfunny.

I also feel as though the characters were not portrayed correctly. I, first of all, imagined Lacey Pemberton as a more bubbly and funny character. In the film she just seemed to be upset about Margo a lot of the time, which I didn’t particularly like. I also didn’t like how Ben was portrayed. Throughout the entire film, I started to get a strange disliking for him as a character, which is weird because in the book he is one of my favourites. I feel as though the actor who played him made him seem like a real asshat, which didn’t make me like the movie very much at all.

All in all, I feel as though the film did not do the book justice. The book is so touching and inspiring and I always recommend it to people that want a funny, easy-read book. I suppose, if there was no book and it was just a film then I maybe would have given it a better review, but I’m not sure. I still feel as though the film was short and lacked excitement. Whenever they found a clue towards the whereabouts of Margo, I didn’t think to myself “Oh yes great they found one! Awesome!” I just kind of thought, “Oh I remember this bit *yawn*”.

Let me know in the comments section below this post if you liked the film or not, and your thoughts on the book as well. If you liked this review then do like this post and I’ll do more movie reviews in the future!

If you want to talk to me on social media about Paper Towns, or anything book related, then my social media links are in the sidebar, as well as my Wattpad at the bottom of this post!

Thank you for reading!

~Jemma xox

https://embed.wattpad.com/follow/cecilysarcasm?theme=light

2 thoughts on “Paper Towns | Movie Review and Discussion

Leave a Reply

