The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer | Michelle Hodkin | Review and Discussion

Hola, fellow book-lover!

As I sit on my bed, my new laptop on my pillow, drinking lemon green tea from a sparkly silver travel mug, a terrifying thought occurs to me.

I have not blogged since Insurgent hit the cinemas and I reviewed it.

That’s a long time.

This post is long overdue, and for that I apologise profusely. But you probably don’t care, so let’s get into the review!

Today, I will be reviewing the haunting yet spectacular Young Adult novel that is The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin.

Genre: Young Adult, Romance, Fantasy, Paranormal

Publisher:  Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Date Published: September 27th 2011

Summary: Mara Dyer believes life can’t get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.
It can.
She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her strangely unharmed.
There is.
She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.
She’s wrong.

My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Thoughts: This book was so amazing! The plot was so original, and it was unlike any other YA book I have ever read. I loved the element of confusion I had throughout the book, and I love that we found out what happened at the asylum as Mara did as well. The characters in this book were so amazing! In only one other book series have I been able to fall in love with and are about characters so much, and that’s so important when reading a book. I find that if you can’t connect with a character, then your reading experience is general worse because you feel like they’re too whiny or too perky and you can’t find anything you like about them. Mara, as a character, was very dynamic in this novel, and she came a long, long way from the start of the book to the end. At the beginning of the book was haunted by her past and desperate to discover what happened to her and her friends, but at the end of the book, we leave her as a confident girl who is strong and knows know exactly what is happening to her. I also found that the themes and moods of the book really helped to draw me in. For example, I have a strange fascination with the criminally insane, so for me this book was suspenseful and thrilling, but also strangely sexy at the same time.

In my rush, I hadn’t tied my shoelaces. Noah was now tying them for me.
He looked up at me through his dark fringe of lashes and smiled. The expression on his face melted me completely. I knew I had the goofiest grin plastered on my lips, and didn’t care.
“There,” he said as he finished tying the laces on my left shoe. “Now you won’t fall.”
“Too late.”

Speaking of sexy! I almost completely forgot to mention now one of my favourite characters of all time (besides Will Herondale and Jem Carstairs), Noah Shaw! This man is perfect! Hodkin is brilliant when it comes to her characters, because it so rare that you find yourself falling in love with the romantic subplot at the same time as the main character! Throughout the entire book I found myself caring more and more for Noah, and by the end of the book I was writing “Mrs. Jemma Shaw” on my French revision.

In summary, I know that this is going to be a book series that I will hold close to my heart forever, and will reread forever.

***

Let me know in the comments if you have read this book, and your thoughts on it if you had. If you liked this review then give it a like and I’ll do more in the future!

If you want to talk to me on social media about Mara Dyer, or anything book/movie related, then my social media links are in the sidebar, and my Wattpad link is at the bottom of this post.

Be sure to check out my Goodreads to see what books I have read, and my ratings for them, what books I want to read, what I am currently reading, and my favourite books!

Thank you so much for reading this, and I will see you very soon!

~Jemma xox

https://embed.wattpad.com/follow/cecilysarcasm?theme=light

Leave a Reply

