The Divergent Series: Insurgent | Movie Review and Discussion

Hello, readers!

I just got back from watching The Divergent Series: Insurgent and I just HAD to share my thoughts!

After watching the trailer when it first dropped, I have to say I had no plans to watch the film. It looked so different, and I didn’t want the film to spoil the image I had in my head.

But yesterday, I made a decision to go and see the film, just in case I ended up liking it.

And I didn’t.

I FREAKING LOVED IT.

Let’s talk about the special effects first, okay? Obviously, Divergent was such a successful film, which meant they could have a bigger budget for Insurgent (God knows how big the budget will be for Allegiant). And oh my gosh did they use that budget well.

Without spoiling the film, the special effects were amazing! The animation in the film was so well done it looked almost real! It really added to the effect of the film, because you were focusing on what was going on and not what looked fake and what didn’t. Truly remarkable.

And the acting. My God. I’m a drama student, so I really appreciate good acting. And I swear I cried. Shailene Woodley was outstanding; Oscar worthy!

SHALL WE TALK ABOUT THE DIFFERENCES? OKAY? OKAY.

There were a lot of changes. For example, Uriah only had a small part, but it was played well. He was amazing.
Also, the box. It wasn’t in the book. In he book it was just a mysterious piece of information that Jeanine wanted. But the box and the method of opening it really added to the film and I loved it.

All in all, if you’re a fan of the book, I would take the risk and watch it. There is bound to be one new thing that you like.

If you’re not a fan of the book, I’d watch it anyway. I mean, you have nothing to be unhappy about, really.

I hope you enjoyed this review! Please leave a comment with your thoughts on the film!

~Jemma xox

Stay happy

Leave a Reply

