Caring for your book: A guide by Jemma

 

Inspired by YouTube content creator, polandbananasBOOKS, also known as Christine Riccio.

Introduction
Written by bookologist and procrastinator, Jemma.
Hi there, and welcome to my book. If you are an experienced fangirl, like myself, you may already be aware of the emotional attachment that may sometimes occur between reader and book. If you are not aware of this, then this guide is perfect for you. My name is Jemma, and I will be giving you step-by-step instructions on how to strengthen the bond between you and your book, and how to care for and nurture it. Please take everything I say seriously, no matter how hard it may be. Enjoy.

Section 1: Before

Navigation
You may have been into a bookshop before. If you have, then you may skip the navigation part of this section.
When you walk into a bookshop, nomally the first self you come across is the best-sellers shelf. This is always a great place to look for you next victim- I mean, book. You next book. Ahem.
Many of the books on there will be biographies/autobiographies, so the fictional books in this section will be limited. You may find that if a film of a book came out recently, then that book may be in the best-sellers section.
If nothing in the best-sellers section appeals to you, I like to head straight to the Young Adult section. When you arrive, it is important to introduce yourself to the potential new love of your life. To do this, simply kneel down and tell the books a little bit about yourself.
After doing this, you may browse the section freely.

Purchasing
When purchasing a book, it is important to ignore the haters. For example, if you are seen walking through the store carrying three copies of New Moon, simply ignore the judgemental stares.
It is also important to remember your manners, as you will be seeing a lot of these people; you don’t want them to hate you.

Organisation
When planning on buying a book, it is important to know where you are going to put them. If you do not consider this, upon you return home, you may have to reorganise your entire shelf, which may take a while. To avoid this, plan ahead.

Presentation
Presentation is key when it comes to your bookshelf. I understand many people just like their books all in a row next to each other, however to me it looks incredibly boring and unattractive.
Top Tip: Put your favourite covers facing outwards on your shelf to add beauty to your collection.

Section 2: After

Pages
I cannot stress this enough. Bookmarks exist in the world for a reason. There is no need for you to fold or bend the pages at all ever. If you don’t own a bookmark, then do what Ethan’s mother does in Beautiful Creatures and just use he closest thing to you at the time.

Washing
No matter what part you are at or how close you are from the end, you are under no circumstances allowed to take your book with you into the bath or shower. That is out of the question. Do you really want to end up dropping the book all over at slippery, wet floor? No, I didn’t think so. Don’t do it.

Binding
I know some may say it is healthy to do this, but I strongly recommend that you try as hard as you can not to break the binding of your book. I don’t care if that means you have to hold the book half-shut whilst reading it, but broken binding looks bad on the shelf.

Lending
I made this mistake. I lent my copy of City of Ashes to my friend. It came back so tatty and ruined that I had to buy a new one. At a signing. Do you know how expensive books are at a signing?!

Overview: What have you learnt?
I hope you have learned the basics of book buying and book care. This guide took an awfully long time to make, as I had to do extensive research.

Thanks for reading.
~
~
~
Hello, readers!

This post was a little bit different but I hope you enjoyed it. It was actually fun for me to make so I hope you like reading it.

Let me know some of your own book care tips in the comments below and maybe I’ll do a part two?

~Jemma xox

Posted from WordPress for Android

Leave a Reply

