Review | An Abundance of Katherines | John Green

Hello, readers!

A few days ago, I finished reading An Abundance of Katherines by New York Times best-selling author of Looking for Alaska, John Green.

Green is a well known author of Young Adult contemporary books, his best known being The Fault in our Stars which was made into a motion picture in June 2014, starring Divergent actress Shailene Woodley. One of his earlier works, Paper Towns, is in movie production currently, set to star model Cara Delevigne and Fault actor Natt Wolf.

Katherines is one of John Green’s lesser known novels, and it was for this reason that I decided to read it. I wanted to know why this one wasn’t as popular as his other works.

I went into this book confident that I would not like it as much as I liked his other novels. However, An Abundance of Katherines is now my favourite Green book. I know that many people will disagree with me, which is fine. Everybody is entitled to their own opinion. And here is mine.

Spoilers ahead.

The book follows washed-up child prodigy (not to be mistaken for child genius) Colin Singleton as he deals with being dumped for the nineteenth time by a girl named Katherine. Colin, all his life, has been drawn to girls named Katherine – and not intentionally, as we find out later in the novel. As most dumpees, Colin is not handling this break up particularly well. Green describes it as having ‘a hole in his gut’. This is something that anybody who has ever lost somebody important can empathise with. Singleton is dealing with his break up so badly, that his over-weight, Judge Judy obsessed best friend offers to go on a road trip with him. The story then follows Colin and his best friend Hassan as they meet new people and attempt to come up with a theorem to avenge dumpees everywhere.

This book was enjoyable for me mainly because of the hilarious foot-notes. These foot-notes were written by John Green as John Green, and were amazing. I had never read a novel with foot-notes before, so it was new and exciting and I’ll definitely be reading more like it!

Another thing that had me loving the book was the humour involved. There was not one page that was free of comedy, and it kept me glued to the book.

The character delevopment, I found, throughout the book was amazing! We got to see Colin grow as a character as he learned to get over K-19. We also got to see him on his journey to becoming a genius and completing the Theorem. We got to see how he went from being kind of self-absorbed to being caring and considerate of other’s feelings (especially the incident with Lindsey and TOC at the end).

All in all, I thought that this book was Green at his best, and I am curious to know what happened to the characters after the novel ended. Do you think Colin went back home? Or do you think he stayed in Gutshot? Leave a comment with what you think happened to them and I may write a theories post!

I give An Abundance of Katherines by John Green 4.5 out 5 stars.

~Jemma

Leave a Reply

